Skip to main content


Two Additional FUSD Students Named National Merit Scholars
Posted 7/30/19

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has announced two FUSD students were among the 540 additional winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges and universities. These Merit Scholar designees join more than 3,500 other college-sponsored award recipients who were announced in June. Joining FUSD’s 12 National Merit Scholars announced last month are Irvington High School’s Jaime Wang and Mission San Jose High School’s Shreya Srinivasan.

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program who will attend their institution. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

This year, 173 colleges and universities are sponsoring about 4,100 Merit Scholarship awards. Sponsor colleges include 95 private and 78 public institutions located in 43 states and the District of Columbia.

This final group of winners brings the number of 2019 National Merit Scholars to more than 7,600. These distinguished high school graduates will receive scholarships for undergraduate study worth a total of over $31 million.